Are you interested in the idea of a vegan diet, but not sure how to start? If you want, you can launch directly and cut all the poultry, meat, eggs and dairy products at once. Or, take a more gradual approach and increase the amount of fruits and vegetables you eat at each meal. A vegan diet is based on plants (such as vegetables, cereals, nuts and fruits) and on foods made with plants. This includes vegetables, fruits, cereals, legumes, nuts, seeds, herbs, spices and many prepared foods, such as meat or dairy substitutes, frozen pizza or ice cream.
If you don't have gluten, opt for pseudograins such as rice or millet. With these recipes alone, you can start to see that vegans eat a wide variety of different foods. While some processed foods have a vegan logo on the front or back, there are a couple of “accidentally vegan” products that can be detected by flipping through the list of ingredients. A vegan diet may be high in iron, although iron from plant-based foods is absorbed by the body less well than iron from meat.
You can get the nutrients you need by following a varied and balanced vegan diet that includes fortified foods and supplements. Sometimes, if you go vegan and don't know what to eat, it's best to choose a recipe that's already vegan to eliminate the guesswork when it comes to replacing it with eggs. If you're raising your baby or child on a vegan diet, you need to make sure they consume a wide variety of foods to provide them with the energy and vitamins they need to grow. That means the label is important for people with dairy allergies, but for vegans who don't want to consume or spend money on dairy products, the food is completely appropriate to buy and eat.
And finally, choosing vegan options reduces the number of animals that suffer harm in order to feed us, something that many vegans care a lot about. Anyone who thinks vegan food is bland doesn't know how to add flavor to their meals; after all, an unseasoned piece of meat doesn't taste much either. After reading the list of things that vegans can't eat, you might think that the vegan diet thing seems a little serious. If a food product does not contain milk in the ingredients, but is labeled “may contain milk” or “may contain traces of milk”, it is completely suitable for vegans.