What foods are surprisingly not vegan?

Cocoa itself is vegan, but milk or dairy products are sometimes added, even to dark chocolate. Are you committed to following an animal-friendly diet? You'll want to know these 35 foods that are surprisingly not vegan (because chances are that at least one is in your closet right now). If you really want to avoid animal-based ingredients in your diet, read on to learn about these 35 foods that, surprisingly, aren't vegan. Before you throw that bag of rolls off the counter, know that most bagels are vegan.

What you should be careful about is when you pick up breakfast on the fly. Some popular bagel chains have been found to use cysteine in their recipes. This conditioning agent is made from duck and chicken feathers. Do you think milk chocolate is the only cocoa product that contains milk? Think about it again.

Many varieties of dark chocolate also contain dairy ingredients. Chocolate made with 65% cocoa or more is less likely to contain milk, but it's still worth checking the label before diving in. It's easy to forget that some alternative foods are marketed to vegetarians, not vegans. There are a lot of fake meat products that fall into this category.

Some Morning Star Farms products and most Quorn products contain egg whites, making them suitable for vegetarians, but not suitable for vegans. The vast majority of French fries are fried in vegetable oil. But one of the most popular types, McDonald's golden potatoes, is cooked with beef fat. Before enjoying this favorite fast food, be sure to learn about the cooking methods used at your local restaurant.

Since it's not enough that bananas aren't always vegan, we also have to worry about non-organic apples and citrus fruits. Fruits with an unnatural shine are often treated with beeswax or insect-derived shellac to give them that extra shine. Save yourself the trouble of finding out what has been treated and opt for organic products in the produce aisle. Like beer, wine is sometimes clarified with filters based on animal ingredients.

These include all types of products, from casein derived from milk, albumin derived from eggs, and ingredients harvested from fish bladders. Unlike beer, this process is common in the wine world, even today. If you want a glass of pinot suitable for vegans, you'll have to look for products marketed as such. Like other fake meats, many veggie burgers are made for vegetarians.

This means that they usually include ingredients such as eggs and cheese. Given the number of brands and flavors on the market today, it's always worth checking the labels before choosing some of these planet-friendly burgers. Or avoid the hamburger altogether and opt for this vegan portobello chipotle, mayonnaise and portobello burger. Whey, a by-product of milk, is another non-vegan ingredient to consider, as it is often hidden in certain bread and candy products.

This seems absurd, but it's true: some brands of soy cheese include ingredients such as casein, a milk protein, in their ingredients. It doesn't make much sense for us to include dairy products in a product aimed at those who don't consume traditional dairy products, but there are still many brands of soy cheese that are vegan, so read the labels carefully. But, unfortunately, most Parmesan cheeses (besides Gruyère, Gorgonzola, Pecorino Romano and Manchego) use rennet to coagulate milk. And what is rennet, you ask? Well, it's an enzyme extracted from the stomach lining of a goat or calf.

Many (but not all) varieties of wine and even some beers use animal substances to help with the clarification or clarification process. Beef, fish and even milk and egg products can be used as part of the clarification process. Ask your local wine store manager for vegan options. Good white sugar (also known as granulated sugar) may or may not be vegan.

Some manufacturers process their product with charcoal from animal bones to help you get that bright white tone. If you want to stick with vegan sugar, opt for certified organic products; they cannot use carbonated products. Cultivated by bees, this golden syrup is considered banned in vegan diets. Some vegan enthusiasts choose to consume honey, since they are not actually eating the animal itself.

Gelatin and sugar may also be hidden in your child's favorite candy; even those adorable gummy bears and similar gummy candies are often the most common culprits. Brands like Annie's Bunny Fruit Snacks and Surf Sweets Organic Fruity Bears are vegan. Turns out everyone's favorite hot sauce isn't suitable for vegans. Many brands of this chili and vinegar sauce are suitable for vegans, but some are made with charcoal-processed sugar, so check your favorite brand's product label.

You can also buy delicious vegan creams from trusted vegan brands such as Silk, Ripple Foods or Califia Farms. Some breads, such as challah or brioche, contain eggs and dairy products in their recipe, but there is an even more cunning ingredient that includes other types of bread on the list of foods that vegans cannot eat. Then there is the question of gray areas, controversial foods that some vegans choose to consume and others don't, such as almonds, avocados and other crops that use bees for artificial pollination. Some foods are obviously forbidden for vegans: if you eat some cheese or eat chicken, you're clearly off the bandwagon and staying somewhere in the realm of flexitarianism.

But once you know what ingredients and brands you should consider, classifying vegan and non-vegan foods is pretty simple. You know that meat, eggs, fish and dairy products are prohibited on a vegan diet, but there are several foods that you probably assume are free of animal products and you'd be surprised to learn otherwise. If you're looking to satisfy a chocolate craving, look for certified vegan chocolate brands such as Enjoy Life Foods. .


Luis Kantz
Luis Kantz

Total pop culture aficionado. Total baconaholic. Wannabe social media fanatic. Extreme creator. Typical bacon junkie. Professional tv scholar.

Leave Message

Required fields are marked *